new old more book profile blog rings host

prev somebody else's Darneisha next
2004-10-12 | 6:03 p.m.

Bambi tells me there are two girls in Sean's kindergarten class named "Dejanique." Same spelling. So there's Dejanique C. and, you know, Dejanique R. There is also a kid in the class named Dejavon. (No Dejavu reported as yet.) Apparently Sean is the only kid in the class with a run-of-the-mill name. I told her I wanted to see the class list and she said she'd get it for me.

This reminds me of the time Criminy had a set of identical twins in her class named Daneisha and Darneisha. At the same time, Rojo had a kid in his class named ... uh oh, I can't remember now if it was Daneisha or Darneisha. But I remember being shocked to learn that there were two people in the world with the name.

Also blown away to learn recently that the name Aquanette, given to a character in the pre-teen book and movie The Cheetah Girls, is in widespread use in this country. And to think I clucked my tongue, imagining it to be merely an unflattering pun. (Go ahead, Google it if you don't believe me.)

I'll have to come back through here soon and sprinkle asterisks everywhere so as not to offend any of the principals. Of course, given how common these names apparently are, I could always insist that it wasn't THEIR Darneisha I was talking about, but somebody else's Darneisha entirely.

prev archive next
2 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random