new old more book profile blog rings host

prev urine big trouble next
2001-07-02 | 12:10 p.m.

Jasper had dry pants from yesterday until today. That's a big deal around here, where we are not exactly in the potty-training fast lane. But he just had his second accident in less than an hour. When I heard the pitter-patter of pee hitting the carpet, again, I cried, "Jasper!" He smiled a big cheesy smile, then frowned when I didn't smile back.

"Why did you do that?" I said. "You're supposed to use the potty."

"I don't," he said seriously, struggling to find the right word. "I don't menember."

I understand how he feels. We all of us in this house have a tendency to get so wrapped up in whatever we're doing that we ignore the more trivial aspects of life. That's how come we often end up eating lunch at three o'clock in the afternoon.

My college roommate and I actually knew each other from the fourth grade on. Cecilia. One of my earliest memories of her is when we were standing in line to play tether-ball and she had to go to the bathroom, but she didn't want to give up her spot in line. So she stood there until she peed her pants. The important thing to note here is that once she peed her pants, she had to give up her place in line anyway. The other kids were complaining and teasing her; she needed to get cleaned up. So there's no way she could have stayed---she might as well have given up her place in line to begin with. Something to keep in mind.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random