new old more book profile blog rings host

prev Superflat next
2002-02-13 | 5:32 p.m.

Learned something new today. Stephen told me that there is a high-art version of anime, manga, and related forms called Superflat. A Google search later and I have the idea that the religious fundamentalists have missed their calling. When it comes to offensive popular culture, Harry Potter has nothing on the Japanese. I would much rather explain Andres Serrano's "Piss Christ" to my kids than this work of quote-unquote art. I understand that art is supposed to be disturbing, and I know that I don't have to like it. But seriously now: how low can we go?

As a parent I think I'm more open than most about sex but I guess I'd be pretty squarely with the mainstream on that one.

That's what I'm mulling over today as I continue to rework the Ikea/bourgeois essay. Did my last poetry session with the 4th/5th graders and not a moment too soon. Also spent far too much time checking my e-mail to see if that book review editor had written me back. So far, nothing.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random