new old more book profile blog rings host

prev if music be the food of love, play on next
2001-09-19 | 9:02 a.m.

Oh how I am missing my diary. I've been working pretty hard, hard for me at least, and there's been no time to write here. Actually, when I do have free time, I've been reading and firing off e-mails urging people to read about the situation in Afghanistan and understand more fully what's going on there. I admit it's a bit of preaching to the choir, but I do it anyway. We do have some right-wingers among our acquaintance but I'm not sure I could ever make a dent there. Also urging people to sign the petition at MoveOn.org, which states the following:

To combat terrorism, we must act in accordance with a high standard that does not disregard the lives of people in other countries. If we retaliate by bombing Kabul and kill people oppressed by the Taliban dictatorship who have no part in deciding whether terrorists are harbored, we become like the terrorists we oppose. We perpetuate the cycle of retribution and recruit more terrorists by creating martyrs. Please do everything you can to counsel patience as we search for those responsible. Please ensure that our actions reflect the sanctity of human life everywhere. Thank you.

If you agree with that statement, please consider signing the petition.

Meanwhile, Duff is sending his own flurry of e-mails about privacy threats posed by pending anti-terrorist legislation, among other things. If you're interested in that, you can read this EFF alert or an ACLU action update.

I spent the whole day in the city yesterday, at the lab, listening to talk radio that somebody had streaming on one of the computers. Wow, did that ever get old. I can't listen to talk radio because it's so depressing. Well, I can listen to the callers on NPR, but that's about it. One of the guys who called in to this show said he wanted the president to knock over his podium, walk up to the cameras and give Osama bin Laden the finger, and say "Osama bin Laden, you better get ready cause I'm about to shove a missile up yer ass!"

Actually, now that I write it down, it's pretty funny. But after a few HOURS, that kind of bar talk gets old.

I don't know if it was that station or another one, but it was a Clear Channel owned Internet station, and they were playing all the songs on the Clear Channel banned-songs list more or less in order, because for some reason they were not bound by the restriction. Which made for an eclectic set, let me tell you.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random