new old more book profile blog rings host

prev Eureka! next
2002-03-25 | 12:41 p.m.

I've got her! They found her! I talked to the animal control officer, and he said he found Daisy down by the amusement park, which is a good ten miles from here. I can't believe it. She is being very vocal, whining and crying, as if she really wants to tell me all about her big adventure. Actually, it's as if she was in the middle of doing something interesting when she was picked up and now she wants to get back to it.

I don't know, maybe I'm projecting.

Anyway, I had to pay a $60 impound fee (luckily I had Duff's ATM card on me, since they don't take checks), and I got a "fix-it" ticket to bring her rabies tag and license up to date.

I have to say I was surprised and impressed that they really seemed to take an interest in finding her. It shouldn't seem that surprising, I guess, considering that there is a rescue element to the job, but on the other hand, you know they must see a ton of animals go through there. But they were great----both the woman who worked at the kennel and the animal control officer, who looked like Hitler Youth with his brown uniform, dark shades, and shaved head. When I was in the kennel office, the woman mentioned to a co-worker that they had found two dogs this morning, and I could tell she was proud of it. It wasn't just business as usual. So that was cool.

And I am very relieved.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random