new old more book profile blog rings host

prev cupcakes and grindstones next
2001-08-27 | 1:55 p.m.

Excuse me. Could everybody check their tags, please? I seem to have picked up the wrong life by accident. I definitely won't be fitting into this life anytime soon.

I'm feeling completely overwhelmed. Today is the girls' birthday. It is also the first day of school and the first day of dance classes. Getting ready this morning, I could find only one backpack. No lunch pails, or even lunch bags, have surfaced since the housecleaning last week. So I ended up making them share the same backpack and I was chucking lunch items into it, helter-skelter, as we walked out the door. Late.

Yesterday Duff checked his bank balance and showed me that I went through $500 last week, most of which went toward the party. This threw me into a terrible funk. Now we're broke and I only got them one present apiece. I'm such a loser!

I got them each a doll. They've never had a regular baby doll that was brand-new when they got it (with clothes and everything). So I wanted them to have one before they were too old to enjoy it anymore. But I had a few other things I wanted to get for them, and now I can't, because we're struggling and I still have to pay for all their dance lessons.

Just getting them to all their dancing classes is going to be trial enough, and I also have to figure out how to pay for it all. I had the brilliant idea to take the money for Felony's dance classes out of her account, and Duff said "Don't you remember? I used that to pay down my credit card balance!" But I already told the teacher she would come.

Setting aside all this domestic drama, I have to start going into the city every day or two to do my hands-on evaluations for the PC roundup I'm writing. My editor is expecting me to be completely on the ball and I haven't done ANYTHING in that direction yet. How can I think about that when I have cupcakes to deliver at 2:30? Plus I heard from Birgit today, asking about my availability to write catalog copy for the publishing house. Stephen is making gentle inquiries as to whether I might be able to write about home finance for him. How can I not? I need the money.

The PC story is due September 20th. Then I do rewrites for another week or two. During this time, I fully expect the diary to suffer. My freewheeling summer, such as it was, has come to an end. Now I take my place at the grindstone. So I'm going to apologize right now for not updating as often as I would like in the next couple of months. I'll try to be more reliable about using the notify list, however, so if you really want to know when I've been here, sign up to get updated by mail when I post. It's easy, you won't get spammed, etc. Well, you'll get spammed by ME, but only to tell you that I've posted.

Okay, it's cupcake time.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random