new old more book profile blog rings host

prev What's Playing at My Own Private Film Festival next
2001-05-08 | 11:16 a.m.

I've seen plenty of movies that I consider well-made or important, but that's not necessarily the criteria for making it onto my favorites list. These are the movies I love without--or beyond--reason. Many of them I can watch over and over, some almost mindlessly, in other cases discovering new information with each viewing. I've added some annotations and will continue to add to this list over time.

PANDERING TO MY INNER CHILD

  • My Neighbor Totoro

    I'd never seen magic like this before. Highly recommended.

  • Kiki's Delivery Service

    Charming and weird. Also by Miyazaki (http://www.nausicaa.net/miyazaki/), who did Totoro and Princess Mononoke. I love how the dubbing for these Japanese animations requires the Americans to speak doublefast.

  • Cinderella (live-action version)

    I particularly like the costumes and set designs in this movie. Another movie I like just for the costumes is Mrs. Santa Claus. Just Mrs. Claus's outfits, really.

    DENSER THAN CHOCOLATE

  • Topsy Turvy

  • White / Blue / Red (Trzy kolory)

  • Welcome to the Dollhouse

    SENTIMENTAL FAVORITES

  • Bridget Jones's Diary

    When Colin Firth turned around and I saw that sweater (expecting to see the sweater described in the book), I laughed so hard I got the screaming giggles and couldn't stop shaking for the next ten minutes.

  • Room with a View

    Of the people I have ever discussed this film with, all the women liked it and all the men hated it. Even Stephen was lukewarm.

  • Persuasion (1995)

    I was a little miffed when I heard this movie described as a "Cinderella story for grownups," but I suppose that's really what it is. It is probably my favorite movie of all time, for both the best and the worst reasons. I particularly admire the way the muted colors evoke England. Sense & Sensibility, by comparison, is awash in sunshine. But it's not the cinematography that has made me watch it dozens of times. Ciaran Hinds is unfuckingbelievable in this movie. Now as you know, British actors look like real people. Real British people, that is, with bad teeth and so on. (Even Hugh Grant's teeth, by Hollywood standards, are deplorable. By British standards, they're perfect.)

    Anyway, the first time I saw Ciaran Hinds in this movie, I thought he looked like a total doofus. By the end of the movie, though, I was completely infatuated with Captain Wentworth and thought he was probably the handsomest man I'd ever seen. But I love ALL the performances in this movie: Anne (Amanda Root--she played Miss Temple in Zeffirelli's Jane Eyre, which is kinda weird because Sam West, who plays Mr. Elliott in this movie, played St. John Rivers in Jane Eyre--not to mention Leonard Bast from Howards End, only with shorter hair, which took me forever to figure out and about drove me nuts trying to remember where I'd seen him before), Corin Redgrave as the baronet (he was Hamish in Four Weddings and a Funeral), and Sophie Thompson (who was also in Four Weddings, not to mention the Gwyneth Paltrow Emma and is Emma Thompson's sister) does an outstanding job as sister Mary.

  • Pride & Prejudice(BBC/A&E)

    INDEFENSIBLE/MAINSTREAM

  • Hunt for Red October

  • Three Men and a Baby

  • Three Men and a Little Lady

  • Under Siege

    prev archive next
    0 comments

    if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
    random