new old more book profile blog rings host

prev an inspirational message from our founder next
2002-04-28 | 11:35 a.m.

When I feel inspired, I realize that I only really need a very small amount of inspiration to get on the right path. I don't actually need to read a whole book or go to Green Gulch or buy a gym membership. Yet I spend vastly more time avoiding and resisting the inspiration that is available to me than in trying to improve myself. So with an eye toward changing all that, this page is meant to be a source of inspiration to me. I will link it from the front page of my diary and try to get in the habit of reviewing it, ideally once every morning. (Could it really be this simple?)

ONGOING
1. Look for good things and good ways to eat.
2. Take time to focus my mind on what's important to me.
3. Keep up with things.

DAILY
1. Make a to-do list with at least three items on it.
2. Do strength training or T-Tapp.
3. Write in the closet for at least 40 minutes.
4. Set aside small amounts of time to keep up with the little things.
5. Get off the computer and do at least 20 minutes of household upkeep.

FOR MYSELF AS MOTHER

Lead by example. If I want them to pick up after themselves, pick up after myself. Don't lose my temper and snipe; model kindness, thoughtfulness, self-control, and respect.

I don't have the same interests or goals as my mother or father. My children will not have the same interests or goals that I have. Accept this and don't try to predetermine what they will become. Only try to set a good example.

GENERAL

Whether you believe you can, or whether you believe you can't, you're absolutely right. --Henry Ford

"Western thought tends to pathologize what is understood in Buddhism as a universally human starting point for wisdom and self-understanding. The "deficiencies" of childhood and the "errors" of adult life often do not represent darkness or void, as they initially seem to, but rather, are occasions that create the possibility of life and freedom. Human urges and conflicts are not necessarily pathologic; instead, they reflect the movement of life as it attempts to become manifest within us. The point is to allow the conflicts to surface and become visible."*

*When you are too broke to buy the books, draw inspiration from the Amazon blurbs.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random