new old more book profile blog rings host

prev support your local letter carrier next
2001-12-22 | 6:16 p.m.

Have mailed 60 cards so far. I'm practically a hermit, so where did I pick up all these people? Maybe I became a hermit because there were too many people requiring cards.

Still not done with the cards, either. I start with the Christians and wind up with the Jews and the atheists, who don't seem to mind as much when you don't make your holiday card deadlines. Ha ha, I'm kidding; nobody ever complains. I'm not exactly Madame de S�vign�, after all. But it's true that I save my favorite atheists for last. (Wasn't that a sitcom in the '60s? My Favorite Atheist?)

Also wrote up a little holiday newsletter and sent it to about half the list. Just people who know what I'm really like. Required painstaking print job with hand-feeding of sheets and much choking and lamentation on the part of the laser printer. Almost nothing we have works properly. We are like the Borrowers, always trying to jigger and jerryrig everything with pencil ends and dental floss.

We are going to have a new DVD player soon, though. We were going to go halves on one for a gift to each other, but when I revealed the plan to Duff's mother, she insisted that that would be her gift to us. Duff says she liked it because that way it allows her to give the exact same thing to his brother and sister-in-law.

That reminds me of something. We got a little newsletter from Duff's aunt and I gave it to him to read. It said, "One of my special nephews got married in March..." and he goes, "Wait a minute!? One of her nephews...?" and he's rolling his eyes around, staring at the ceiling, trying to think just WHO got married this year in the family. He's chasing around the family tree, dredging up cousins, second cousins, kissing cousins, and can't think WHO it could possibly be. I don't tell him, I just start to laugh. Well, duh, it was his own brother! And what made it even funnier is that the paragraph goes on. "...They are hockey players. And Duff and Annabel Lee and the kids came out from California..." blah blah blah. That's us, you see. I mimicked him reading on incredulously: "Damn, and I was there!" I laughed so hard I thought I was going to have an aneurysm.

You see that we are made for each other in some ways. We are both completely out of it.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random