new old more book profile blog rings host

prev blur -- in which our heroine takes a moment away from overworking herself next
1999-11-11 | 13:45:10

My life is a blur lately. Everything happens so close, it's as if it were at a great distance, like being stuck in a bus station or an airport. There's so much going on, and it goes on for so long, that you can't take it all in or draw much meaning from it.

Okay, whatever.

Anyway, there's a break in the onslaught today. What I mean is, I got almost everything done yesterday and this morning, and I just took a shower for the first time in 2-1/2 days and I feel good. Yesterday, frenzied, overcaffeinated, I wrote to a coworker-friend, "I'm being crushed by the enormous snowball of ineptitude I started rolling down the snowy hill of my senescence months (years?) ago. And it's so fitting that all the copy editors get to watch."

Oh, you don't know it but I turned 35 this month. Entered a new demographic, as it were. This is the age I always thought of as halfway dead. Bambi's baby was in the NICU all last week. Looks like he just had an infection, but Bambi is also having trouble. Her resting heart rate is too high, and the doctor wants to do an echo-cardiogram. The doctor said her heart may be enlarged. It's from not taking her medication for so long.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random