new old more book profile blog rings host

prev flagwavers next
2001-10-15 | 5:12 p.m.

My sister has a bumper sticker taped to the inside of her car's rear window. It says: Those Who Are Not with Us Are Against Us over an American flag background. I suspect the sentiment is directed at me.

I had my flag up for the first ten days or so. But then I took it in because I kept forgetting to bring it in at night. I didn't want it to get all raggedy. I've seen some pretty raggedy flags lately flying from car radio antennae. It's one thing if you're crossing the Delaware, but if you're just tooling around in an SUV, I'm not sure it's respectful. More to the point, it reminds me of the rednecks in high school who used to fly the American flag from one end of the pickup bed and the Confederate flag from the other end. I went to a school in the South called Dixie, if you can believe it. The school song was "Dixie" and the students were the Rebels and I wrote for the school paper, The Rebel Rouser. It was a strange place to be a liberal. I fly a flag because I want to reclaim it from the right wing, but I still have mixed feelings about the whole business. Especially the part where I hear people insisting on unity to the exclusion of cognition, which seems to be a synonym for lockstep.

So ... I could keep going with this but I've got a headache that won't quit. So I'll quit for now and come back later. I think I'll take some Anvil ... er, Advil.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random