new old more book profile blog rings host

prev on second thought next
2001-10-12 | 6:04 p.m.

Okay, maybe I don't have a crush on that guy after all. Looks like he may have trained counter-terrorist groups over there---either that or it was another guy with the same name. Plus he's married.

***

Criminy (on the back porch): Hello! I'm over here!

Me: Who're you talking to, C?

Criminy: I'm talking to a squirrel.

You have to understand that Criminy is one of those geeky people who puts a little too much emphasis on everything she says, so she always sounds perfectly exasperated---even when she's not. I've talked to her about this, tried to gently teach her that her tone is off-putting, especially to people who don't even know her, but any kind of discussion like this hurts her feelings and then she starts to cry. I feel I ought to try to have patience with this sort of thing because I had similar issues when I was a kid, and my Dad had little patience for it. My stepmother never really got it at all.

The other thing I should mention is that today I got a call from the school principal's office, letting me know that Felony had received a referral for throwing rocks on the playground, and would I please talk to her about it. But when I picked the girls up from school, I started to lecture Felony, and she told me it wasn't her but Criminy who had gotten into trouble. Usually it's Felony getting into trouble, so I was surprised, though I was careful not to express that, because I don't want Felony to get the idea that I think she is a trouble-maker. (She's not that much of a trouble-maker, and I don't want to exacerbate the situation.) And of course I was irritated with the principal for mixing them up. It's not as if they look alike.

Also when I went to pick up the girls, there was a plainclothes police officer standing right where I parked. He had a single handcuff peeking out from his waistline in back.

Oh, and also, I ended up eating lunch at McDonald's, despite my earlier edict, which is funny because I didn't go to McDonald's for years for political reasons. The only reason I bought food (or "food" if you prefer) there today is because it is the only fast-food place between school and the park where we were meeting friends in Lesser Loserville.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random