new old more book profile blog rings host

prev stop making sense next
2001-10-12 | 10:36 a.m.

This is what my thoughts sound like right about now: Oh man oh man oh man oh man oh man oh man. MAN!

I am really freaking out. I think it's partly hormonal, because I got my period (hey, I'm not in Africa, I can talk about my period), but between the FBI press release, and the new case of anthrax in New York (an NBC employee), and Ashcroft (the very name unnerves me) talking about extra precautions around nuclear and water plants, the whole thing has got me all whipped up inside. When I get this way, I don't run around like Chicken Little. I get real deep inside, and think to myself, I'm going to go out and buy more gallons of water, and I'm going to tell my immediate relatives to think about doing the same, but nobody else, and I'm not even going to tell my relatives until I've bought all the water I can carry.

There was some Russian intellectual (killed by Stalin, natch) who explained how the unit people want to protect and defend is the family, and that's why communism should revolve around family somehow, instead of trying to get people to care about their co-workers or whatever. Something like that; I can't remember exactly.

Anyway, I've been reading about nukes, which is enough to make me crazy all by itself, and all these fucking---ARGH!---these talking heads keep talking around the important issues. Listening to some general on NPR yesterday, same thing. Makes me want to become a reporter again, to try to nail these fuckers down. Nail em to the table and don't let them walk away until they tell the truth.

And then I come across some older articles where all these fatheads are talking about how building more nuclear power plants is the key to solving California's energy crisis. I can only hope that now this idea won't seem so appealing to our thoughtful lawmakers. I mean, come on. Do you think terrorists want to bomb solar-energy plants? No, but you can't get funding for those. People think they're too loopy. But nukes? Hell yeah. Now those make sense. Bring 'em on!

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random