new old more book profile blog rings host

prev it's my party and I'll cry if I want to next
2001-09-13 | 6:40 p.m.

You know it's bad if I'm thinking about checking my horoscope. I'm looking for signs on the wind. I'll be visiting a psychic next.

Okay, good. The horoscope doesn't have the slightest idea what I'm going through. That's comforting, somehow. My belief system is not threatened, even if everything else is going to hell.

I don't really have time to post, so I made a little list that describes my day so far.

1. I can't find my glasses. For three days, I've been driving at night in my sunglasses.

2. My car stalled in front of the girls' school and the school janitor had to push me out of the crosswalk.

3. When I checked the oil, it was at Add 1 Quart even though Duff just put two quarts of oil in the car a few days ago. So that must mean I have an oil leak.

4. I had to get out of my car and put oil in (thanks to Kiki, who gave me two quarts) while wearing a hideous pair of Pepto Bismol-pink sweatpants that I bought on clearance at Wal-Mart for, like, $3.

5. I listened to an entire CD of a radio show featuring the home finance CEO I'm supposed to ghost-write for and realize that the CD contains almost nothing useful. Flurry of phone calls to editors follows.

6. Mason wants to come on Wednesday to build fireplace. Uh, okay. I have no money, but hopefully Duff can cover it.

7. Duff is in Chicago. I can find his flight itinerary, but no hotel info. Couldn't reach him even if I wanted to.

8. Jasper found my glasses behind the surge protector. Hallelujah.

9. Picked up girls at school. Forgot Felony's jazz class occurs just 45 minutes later and must drive all the way home to retrieve bike shorts.

10. Upon exiting freeway, car stalled again at intersection.

11. Called sister, begged her to take Felony to jazz class.

12. Called mechanic, but did not know what I wanted. I wanted to bring the car in, but I also want Jasper to go to the first day of preschool tomorrow from 9-11 a.m. Which precludes getting car to mechanic early. Also not sure how we will pay for repair. Leave things with mechanic unresolved. Must call in a.m.

13. Tried calling Duff's cell phone again and this time, he actually answered it. Not that he could actually help me with any of my problems, but at least now he knows I probably can't pick him up at the airport.

14. Computer article editor calls, wants to know what systems I've finished evaluating. Hint: It's a very short list.

15. Birgit wrote to me, asked Can I give her my correx on newsletter? I hurriedly scribble correx and fax to her, since a) my Netscape 6 e-mail inbox is infuriatingly locked up solid; and b) I cannot find her phone number because I accidentally erased my Palm address book file in weeks previous while frantically trying to control damage wrought by SirCam virus.

16. Fax machine choked on fax. What else is new?

17. Must start home finance article soon, as due tomorrow a.m. But it's dinnertime. Home finance must wait.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random