new old more book profile blog rings host

prev in the wrong place at the wrong time next
2001-09-12 | 2:15 p.m.

Duff, still stranded in Chicago with his boss, his boss's boss, and his boss's boss's boss, just called to tell me that he may not get home tomorrow after all, since the FAA decided not to reopen the nation's airports this afternoon. And then when they do resume flights, priority will go to people whose flights yesterday were diverted to other airports. So, as he pointed out, right now he is one of millions of people in this country who are in the wrong place.

My greatest worry right now is a dumb one. Workmen are here working and I am afraid they are going to ask me to pay them and I can't. I talked to the sheetrock guy last night and explained that I don't have access to the money, and he said he would call the foreman and explain the situation. But he's kind of a flake, and I'm afraid that he might not have done it. Duff has all the money buried in his "secondary savings account." I could get out maybe $300 from his checking, but that's it. I hope they are understanding. Duff says they have no choice but to wait, but it's an uncomfortable position for me to be in.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random