new old more book profile blog rings host

prev accident next
2001-09-08 | 4:04 p.m.

I guess my nephew Damien, who works as a plumber, was putting in a water heater and it exploded in his face. My Mom just told me so I may not have the details just right. Burned his eyes, face, hair. Drove himself home so his girlfriend could take him to the emergency room. Went to the hospital and they had to deaden his eyes and pluck things out with tweezers, needles, pins. Trimmed back his singed eyelashes because the pieces were falling into his eyes.

They wanted to give him a shot of morphine, but he refused.

Then I guess he went back to the emergency room, Kaiser (synonymous in my mind with bad hospital), and they told him it would be about a two-hour wait. So he gives them his phone number and asks them to call him on his cell when they're ready.

That's pure Damien. He's got places to go, people to see, and he doesn't stand on ceremony. He went to Bambi's to visit and she told him she didn't think he would be getting that phone call. So he said OK and went back to emergency.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random