new old more book profile blog rings host

prev hell is where you hang your hat next
2002-08-02 | 11:35 p.m.

Emma Goldman on Democracy:

"Every effort for progress, for enlightenment, for science, for religious, political and economic liberty, emanates from the minority, and not the mass."

as quoted in The Encyclopedia of Unbelief, p. 299

I found that written out on a index card among some old college-era research notes. I wanted to make a note of it, or a new note I guess you would say, but now that I've gone to the trouble to type it out, it seems pretty self-evident. Oh well. It's Emma!

***

A couple years ago, Criminy tweaked a common phrase to come up with an original way to describe a sweat-inducing heat. Unfortunately, as she approaches the sophisticated age of seven, I fear she is losing the locution, so I want to write it down before we both forget. She calls it "soaking hot." As in, "Mo-o-om! I'm soaking hot!" Or "It's soaking hot outside!"

Criminy gripes a lot--have I mentioned this? It's just the way she is. Easily put out. The arms cross, the brows knit. She stomps unsubtly, walking at a thirty-degree angle, to indicate her displeasure. The uninitiated have a hard time keeping a straight face at this behavior, which looks like something out of an old Popeye cartoon. Going through puberty with this child is going to be about as much fun as an AA meeting in the fifth circle of hell.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random