new old more book profile blog rings host

prev more wine! next
2001-07-18 | 11:34 p.m.

You may recall that I said I would ask Leo, my friend the established writer, to help Frank, my struggling contemporary. Well, I did do that and Leo must have been in an extremely generous mood because he spoke with his agent and also with a junior editor at the N--- Y----- about Frank and the book he is planning to write. But it was all for naught because Frank hadn't yet written any chapters of his new book. That's because he doesn't have any money to go do the research for the new book. Bit of a quandary. (The old book is finished and publication has been arranged, if not quite to everyone's satisfaction.) I guess I jumped the proverbial gun.

But then again, maybe not. Turns out the N-- Y----- editor wants an outline to show to the grand poobah and today the agent wrote directly to Frank to find out exactly what he's up to with the book. And it turns out that the agent---about whom Leo would tell me nothing---is from an agency whose chieftain is one of the most famous literary agents on earth. So hot diggity dog, as they say in Belgium.

Frank called to tell me right away. The fact that the guy wrote to him means a lot because, as he explained it, now he can talk to the guy in his own voice, as opposed to writing to him out of the blue, "cap in hand."

So it is exciting. And I told him if he signs a contract we are definitely going out to dinner. Keep your fingers crossed.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random