new old more book profile blog rings host

prev A.I. P.U. next
2001-07-11 | 8:03 a.m.

So last night we went to see A.I. (or A.1., like the steak sauce, as some people have interpreted it) and GAWD did I hate that movie. Wow. It was the kind of pretentious, portentous science fiction I despise, not to mention humorless, smothered with a wet blanket of cloying morality and bland presumptions about the human condition and the universality of experience that I don't support. Maybe you think this is just sour grapes, because the movie didn't fit into my philosophical pocket. I don't believe it, and here's why: I enjoy most movies more than this one, and few of them hew to my worldview. So I say this movie just wasn't entertaining. During the movie, Duff used the glo feature on his watch maybe 10 times. The people behind us (the theater was virtually empty, but it was a Tuesday night so that's hard to interpret) seemed to enjoy it all right but I noticed the guy in the group huffed and sighed several times. I sighed a lot, too, with exasperation, but through my teeth, so it didn't make much noise.

My favorite thing about the movie was the sets. The attempts at literary allusion were worse than ham-handed. If I say any more this will become a spoiler, and I hate when people launch into spoilers without warning, but maybe I should write a separate entry later with more detail. Would you want to read that? I know lots of people don't like to read negative reviews, though. Anyway, I gotta run my sister to work right now.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random