new old more book profile blog rings host

prev bones next
2002-06-30 | 11:01 a.m.

Wondering if the party's over. After noticing this morning that I was seriously down the attention drain, doing one of those never-ending Google searches that I can waste an hour or more on, I took a pill. Two and a half hours later, all I want to do is sit in the armchair and watch Clifford the Big Red Dog with Jasper. Started thinking about television and movie tropes when one of the dogs, Mack, was presented with a big doggy bone. As Mack prepared to bite down on the bone, I was figuring the odds that the sound he would make biting down would be that same chomp/clack sound we've come to know as the sound of a dog biting down on a bone in a cartoon, which is not very much like the actual sound of a dog chewing a bone. And sure enough, Mack bit the bone, and it made the exact sound effect I was anticipating! Because what other sound would they use? There is no other sound for a dog chomping a bone in a cartoon. It's the same sound Dino made chomping his bones forty years ago on The Flintstones.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random