new old more book profile blog rings host

prev vultures next
2001-06-18 | 9:57 a.m.

Saw a vulture on top of a lamppost on Tuolumne Street today, right by my Mom's. A second later, I saw a dead possum in the road. That helps explain the vulture, but it wasn't the first time I've seen vultures on that same stretch of road, just outside the entrance to the hospital. Doesn't exactly inspire confidence in a medical establishment, does it? Vultures circling in the sky, I mean. As it happens, I have studiously avoided that hospital for years. They don't seem to be able to get things right. Strange, though, to see vultures in a lush and manicured suburban environment. They must have a nest nearby. Maybe they have a nest here and commute in to the desert.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random