new old more book profile blog rings host

prev Sav Max next
2001-06-17 | 11:29 p.m.

In Sav Max, a grocery store even less refined than Food 4 Less, I watched a couple shopping ahead of me. She was built like a caramel apple on a stick, as opposed to fat all over, which Barry Sears (creator of the "Zone" diet) describes as the body type most likely to develop diabetes. She wore a black T-shirt, and on the back it said "TRIBE: To Remember Indian Brotherhood Everyday."

(I'm not certain those were the exact words, but that's about right.)

I would never have guessed that she was Indian. Not even by a fraction. Nor did I imagine him to be anything other than an average white guy with an unfortunate shorts-and-socks sunburn until he perked up in front of huge rack of lard and said "Baby, here's the lard!" in Spanish. When she replied in English, her voice---high-pitched and sharp, as if spoken by an alcoholic Billie Burke---didn't seem to go with the rest of her. "Well, if you want it, git it," she said.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random