new old more book profile blog rings host

prev comedy central next
2002-06-13 | 2:27 p.m.

In June, James goes back to work in the writers' room. "We have 10 writers, and we all sit around in a nice resort hotel and take story ideas from the real lives of the writers," he said. "Once we find a funny situation, we ask, 'Can it sustain 22 minutes?' By the end of the year, we're stumbling in search of ideas." [Parade Magazine, June 9, 2002]

God, I could do that. I could so do that. I wrote daily for a newspaper, I can write funny, I can definitely handle the resort hotel. Should I move to L.A. and try to make it as a sitcom writer? I wonder what I would need to do first. I have no connections, of course (I always feel like I'm impersonating a character from Jane Austen, saying that, but it's about as true today as it was in her day). And I need some sort of material to show around that's funny. Hmm...

As you see, I am reading the newspaper and reflecting on my life. It is so like me to wonder, on a daily basis, what I ought to be when I grow up. I will be on my deathbed still thinking it over.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random