new old more book profile blog rings host

prev my reply to the anonymous guestbook entries next
2002-05-30 | 10:08 p.m.

Confidential to The Other Side: I don't know why you posted anonymously in my guestbook, but if your intention was to make me feel bad about myself, it isn't going to work.

First things first. You might believe that everybody has a right to an opinion. But I disagree. I believe that everybody has a right to an INFORMED opinion. When you write, "maybe your husband does have some points to not home schooling" it shows me that you are not reading for comprehension. At no point did I say that Duff is opposed to homeschooling. That's because he doesn't have a problem with it. We have our problems, and that is not one of them.

Neither, for that matter, do I call him my husband, because he's not. In the entry just before the one you commented on, I make that clear. So I know you didn't read that far.

But all that I can forgive. I know my diary isn't the most gripping read on the Net. I don't blame you for not wanting to spend more time on it. What I don't like is the impulse that led you to judge me so harshly on so little information. Where do you get off accusing me of being unwilling to evaluate situations? Most people I know would say I mull things over too much.

I write a diary so I can have an outlet for my feelings. I've started going to therapy because I am trying to get out of a rut. There is nothing dishonorable about any of that. When I felt happy when my therapist did not discount my feelings, you decided that I must not have read the situation properly, and that I forgot there are two sides to every story. Which is weird, considering how much time I spent in that entry imagining what somebody else might say about it all. I mean, come on!

You also imply that my very well-educated psychologist isn't able to suss out my illusions, to which he might take exception.

For you to come around here and try to make me second-guess and doubt myself, when I am already quite skilled at it, tells me that you are an unkind and ungenerous person.

My guess is that you are someone who doesn't have a high opinion of homeschooling. Fine. In that case, you probably shouldn't do it. As for me, I have done a tremendous amount of research on the subject, beginning before my children were even born. I have volunteered extensively at my children's school, I have helped and observed in their classrooms, I have talked to literally HUNDREDS of people about homeschooling, and I am comfortable with my decision. I wish more of my friends saw things the way I do, but you can't have everything. I know I may not be making the right decision. Only time will tell. But at least I can say I have given it the old college try.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random