new old more book profile blog rings host

prev what so loudly we hailed next
2001-05-22 | 11:27 a.m.

They are having some kind of pep rally-cum-talent show over at the high school, and some girl just sang the most horrifying rendition of the Star-Spangled Banner I have ever heard. Off-key, like Roseanne's, only worse, because high-pitched and screechy. The crowd half-applauded, half-booed, which made me wish they were a little more Live-at-the-Apollo. Some people will do anything for the spotlight. You have to wonder if she really knows just how bad she sounds.

In other news I did take that shower, and I did finish reading Ruth's mss, and I am just about finished with a message to Ruth containing my comments. I was writing it when the amplified young Jenny Lind down the street distracted me. But at least I have done that much today, and should not be counted out of anything just yet.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random