new old more book profile blog rings host

prev Surf 'n' Turf next
2001-05-02 | 7:24 p.m.

Just got back from our Florida trip. I feel like I have been living on an airplane for the past two years. But Florida was great. Everything slows down there. I've never met anybody in Florida who was particularly ambitious, except maybe my friend Shirl, with whom we stayed. Even her ambition allows her to sleep in.

Duff, who uniformly turns up his nose at civilian pools, even expressed admiration for hers. I consider it a thing of beauty and a joy forever. What an incredibly decadent luxury it is to have a big swimming pool to yourself and know that you will not have to share it with any strangers. There will be no grim lap swimmers interfering with your Marco Polo game, today or ever.

Almost as soon as we arrived I started talking about moving there. It's always in the back of my mind. I got a real estate magazine and picked out a five-bedroom house with a pool and a lanai. I'm not even sure what a lanai is. I think it's just a patio. Their million-dollar houses start at around $300K.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random