new old more book profile blog rings host

prev those who can't, teach next
2002-03-08 | 11:28 a.m.

Yesterday one of Duff's co-workers was laid off. Duff's boss told him she had been ordered to lay off a senior-level employee and the decision had been between Duff and this other guy. The company bosses wanted to lower head count. Duff's boss offered to cut their department budget by three times the amount of the guy's salary, but no go. Different accounting or some bullshit.

So Duff was pretty rattled by the whole thing. The higher-ups were pushing for it to be him, because they had heard he was planning to go to law school. They didn't know he never applied anywhere. Even his own boss didn't know. So he almost lost his job over something that never happened.

I had an idea and told him about it when he got home. I've been looking into what it would take for me to become a teacher of some kind. Of course, I still have that one class left to finish my degree. But Duff already has his degree (plus a year of grad school) and could take the CBEST now. That way, if he ever does get laid off, he could start substituting and pursuing a credential right away. I also remembered that he had mentioned wanting to teach in the past. He would probably end up as a math or science teacher and coach. I can't imagine him teaching and not getting drawn into coaching.

The deadline to register for the next CBEST is today. We are talking about it now. He is trying to talk me into taking it, but I don't even know if they'll let me without a degree.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random