new old more book profile blog rings host

prev in league with eggheads next
2002-03-04 | 10:32 a.m.

If I left the impression that my friends are unfeeling eggheads, please be assured that this is simply not true. Maxine is one of the more compassionate people I've ever met, and when Stephen calmly disagrees, implying that he would prefer to uphold the civil rights of everyone no matter what, it is instructive to know that he himself was viciously (and randomly) attacked by a gang of thugs in the early '90s, and that his mental recovery took longer than his physical recovery. He knows what it feels like to be afraid of what you can't see coming.

I just get petulant when people don't agree with me. Part of it is because I worry that I haven't done a good enough job of convincing them. If I were a better and more persuasive writer, wouldn't everyone agree with me?

Well, maybe not. Maybe it's not actually my FAULT that everyone doesn't agree with me.

Sheesh.

You know, I don't sound like this all the time. The diary collects some of my excesses.

Did you hear that Kurt Cobain's diaries just sold for a couple million? Bought by Riverhead.

Anyway, I was trying to make the point that my friends are really exceptional and I am very grateful to have them.

In other news, I've decided to try writing up a rigid schedule for myself. I'm so resistant to the idea of regimentation that I refuse to impose any on myself, but it may be self-defeating. I don't really get all that much done. Maybe I could do better if I pushed myself just a little bit harder.

So that's my goal for today; to write up the list. But Criminy, home sick, wants to get on the computer now, so I'll start doing it by hand.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random