new old more book profile blog rings host

prev 12 things I know about myself next
2003-02-24 | 12:28 a.m.

1. I don�t like acrylic sweaters. Can�t stand the way they feel against my skin, or the way they pill under the arms. Yuck.

2. My I�m-broke-and-have-nothing-good-to-eat-in-this-house comfort food is French toast with peanut butter and jelly.

3. I like to take pictures, and if you came to my house, I might try to bore you with my albums. Or else take your picture.

4. Actually, if you came to my house, I might not even answer the door. I�m really bad about that. I have what FlyLady calls CHAOS: Can�t Have Anyone Over Syndrome. Because my house is so messy. I�m not much for talking on the phone, either.

5. I cannot seem to read a human-interest story without tearing up. I cry for commercials. I cry at the memory of human-interest stories I read months before. When I�m really, really angry, I cry. All my life, I have cried easily.

6. Music is not a particularly important or meaningful part of my life. Usually, I only listen to the radio in the car. I enjoy it, but I almost never think, Wow, I�ve got to have this CD.

7. I love magazines, especially home and lifestyle mags, which can send me into a kind of catatonic bliss. I am all about words and pictures.

8. The idea of becoming a foster parent appeals to me. I told myself I could look into it after I get my house decluttered.

9. I�m mildly terrified of being stared at by people I don�t know or don�t know well. I get panicky at the thought of being judged. I generally dislike being introduced to new people. Though I can seem raucous and high-spirited, at parties I feel like an actor. It is always a relief to go home.

10. Any compliment directed my way is likely to go in one ear and out the other. But criticism I find disabling. Sometimes I hear criticism where others do not. One time, I noticed that my gynecologist had described me as an �obese female� on my chart (I was reading it upside-down) and it was all I could do not to burst into tears. I actually caught myself thinking, mock-ironically, But I thought we were friends!

11. Sometimes when I am really upset, I think, �I want my Mom,� but what I mean isn�t that I want to talk to my Mom (who, after all, is very accessible to me), but that I want back my childhood sense of my mother as my own personal superhero.

12. I used to walk around Berkeley in the middle of the night, both with friends and by myself. I have a very clear memory of walking down Shattuck Avenue at three o�clock in the morning with my hands stuffed in my jacket pockets, feeling completely awake and alive.

prev archive next
15 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random