new old more book profile blog rings host

prev incontrovertible evidence next
2002-02-22 | 11:38 a.m.

I knew it. As soon as I read yesterday that the government had "incontrovertible evidence" that Daniel Pearl was dead, I knew it meant his kidnappers had cut his head off. When this whole "war on terror" kicked off, I read an article by that former American soldier (I linked to it here in the diary) who said we should expect to see videotaped beheadings. So, sure enough.

I have read that it is hard to kill a man. How much harder must it be to decapitate him by hand? And for what? Because he was Jewish? Because you want to send a "message" to the president of Pakistan? It is just too fucked up. I don't even have the vocabulary to talk about it. But all the pretty philosophy in the world could boil it down to this: You ought to be able to do your job without getting your head cut off.

Man. It is just so wrong. If what you want in this world requires you to decapitate ordinary people who never got in your way, then the goal itself must be corrupt, rotten, not worth having. Do you believe that's true? I can't think how it wouldn't be.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random