new old more book profile blog rings host

prev Jedi mind trick next
2002-02-06 | 1:12 p.m.

Oh boy. Just got off the horn with my Macrofort contact. She's very nice----very nice----but she doesn't speak much English, at least not with me. That is, she speaks Businessian (Stephen's coinage), the official language of business, a language in which I am not truly fluent. She keeps saying she wants to keep things "high-level," and it takes me four or five iterations of this phrase to understand that she means "general, vague, generic." Meaningful if you tend to think in terms of outlines (where the first item must encompass each subsequent item), which I generally----er, high-levelly----do not. So for every time she says "high-level," I say "general." I don't mean to sound as if I'm correcting her, though perhaps it comes across that way. I don't know. I'm just trying to make sense of it all. But finally she starts to say "general," too. It feels like a breakthrough of some kind.

On top of not quite understanding everything she says, my hearing is not as good as it was, and I have trouble making out every third or fourth word she says. So I ask her to mail me the job descriptions she is reading to me. She hesitates, and I realize I am prepared to beg.

LIST
1. I need to get my hearing checked.
2. I need to get my moles checked.
3. I need to go for my annual gyn. exam.

By the way, I just joined theshivers's Google diaryring and all you other Gold members should, too. You know you love 'em. Today, I enticed readers on the promise of:

"another woman" fistfight
"Carnation Breakfast Bars"

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random