new old more book profile blog rings host

prev what, me worry? next
2002-02-05 | 10:03 a.m.

Hmm. Hmmm hmm hmm. I'm just going to write a quick entry here in the box because I'm supposed to be finishing up that Macrofort assignment. But I have a lot of little fuzzy bits floating around in my mental jam and I need to pick them out before I make ... er, toast.

First things first: Found a funny diary called what-nosex that I'm confident many of you will enjoy. She linked to me and mentioned that I tend to vent pretty forcefully. I notice that I've really developed a reputation as a ranter and it's amusing to me. Not because it isn't true, but because when I read my diary, what jumps out at me is all the instances of whining and feeling sorry for myself. I'm so hyper-aware of it that I literally suppress it when I sit down to write. I'll think, Oh no, not again, and force myself to write about something else. Maybe that's why my venting entries are so harsh? Because I'm channeling a different emotion into it.

Other new linkers I've been reading are itrymybest, a young DJ prone to panic attacks who is living apart from her new husband while she finishes college (reminds me that I need to go read cerebrate and see how she's faring), and sidanen, a seriously Pagan Mom (which reminds me to go read milkmaid.

I should make a chapbook of favorite entries from all my linkers. I could put all their links on my front page, too, but maybe people would think I was only imitating ol' what's his name. Hmmm. Hmmm hmm hmm.

Anyway, want to come back soon and talk about the long talk I had with Rick about yoga, meditation, and charismatic religious leaders. Also could talk about reworking my Ikea entry for the umpteenth time yesterday, and how (at Frank's urging as of last night) it seems to be turning into an essay on bourgeois living. Frank had comments but none of them positive. But that's always how it is. Could talk about how I'm the only one in the family who hasn't come down with strep, and how Duff tried to blame it all on me, even though I'm constantly after them to wash their hands. I had strep throat a couple of years ago and it was so horrible I swore I'd never let myself get it again. Now I wash my hands like an obsessive-compulsive fiend, which exacerbates the dry skin condition on the back of my hands. My skin gets so dry it cracks and bleeds, and if I try to put lotion on these areas, it burns really bad. So I finally found, to my amusement, a product called Crack Creme. Can't help but wonder how long this will stay on the market as named.

Okay, if I am writing about Crack Creme it means that I can certainly turn my attention to my assignment. It's so hard to leave when I have so much fodder for procrastination!

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random