new old more book profile blog rings host

prev I killed the fish next
2002-01-13 | 2:46 p.m.

I didn't even want the little buggers in the first place. Jasper won them at the fair while I was in the restroom. I didn't even give him the money to play the fishing game---Roxanne did. But now they're dead, and I feel terrible. I must have killed them, too. I'm the only one who ever paid the slightest bit of attention to them. More than one person told me they'd only live a couple of weeks, but as August turned into September and the days rolled on, they seemed so hardy. A few days ago, I added some water to the tank but I was careful to treat it with the stuff you're supposed to use. I even made sure it was the same temperature as the tank water by letting the container sit next to the tank for a few days. Maybe that was the fatal mistake, letting the water sit out too long, and all the good stuff evaporated or something. I don't know. I'm not a scientist! I don't know anything. But that's the only thing I had done differently in months. So that must have been it.

I even thought recently, I should get another one. Since they're not dying like everybody told me they would, I should get another one to liven up their existence. But then I thought, why should I assume they're bored? Their life seems pretty boring to me, but if somebody decided to plop a new roommate into my house, I'd be pretty damn put out. So I changed my thinking and didn't get a new fish.

Duff is yelling at the kids. It's one of those weekends.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random