new old more book profile blog rings host

prev Why I Voted for Nader next
2000-12-28 | 15:39:44

I voted for Nader because I wanted him to get the 5 percent the Green Party needed to secure matching funds and appear in the debates in the next election. That way, it seemed to me, we would get to hear the candidates talk about other issues, important to me, that were never mentioned in this campaign. That's it, that's my reason. Also, I agree with Nader's platform and his record (such as it is) more than I do with Gore's, though I do not make a neat fit in either party. Certainly I'm unhappy that Bush won. People have suggested that Nader voters should be tarred and feathered, etc., for costing Gore the election. Some Nader voters feel guilty about their vote, but I don't. I feel, like an NPR caller I heard on the radio, "unrepentant." As he put it, "I'm in this for the long haul."

People have said that Bush stole the election from Gore. I bet the guy who really feels cheated is Quayle. Essentially, we have a Quayle presidency without Quayle. I haven't forgotten how much he wanted to be president.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random