new old more book profile blog rings host

prev T minus ouch next
2003-12-25 | 12:57 p.m.

On the vast scale of things I know it counts for nothing; even on the vast scale of my life, nary a blip. But this morning when I contemplated the day, I started crying. The not-in-laws are coming, aka Our Benevolent Landlords, and between the still far too messy house and the dog they have forbidden outright, I know there will be words. They will not be happy. I want everybody to be happy, including me. Thus the dog. �You really are a dog person,� Barbara said with some surprise when she saw me playing with Rusty.

Yes, I really am.

But it was hard to keep crying with so much to do, and Duff cooing in my ear, and a warm dog with soft fur nuzzling my neck and biting my knuckles. A warm dog who wants to make everybody happy, too, only he can�t because he�s also an overgrown puppy who chews up household objects and shits on the rug.

Up last night until 4:45 a.m. wrapping presents, and didn�t even finish. No time to write any more. I�ll post pictures later. Merry Christmas everybody. You�re the best.

prev archive next
13 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random