new old more book profile blog rings host

prev thrift remorse next
2001-12-14 | 11:51 a.m.

Reading the dust jacket of a book, Elizabeth Berg's Open House, and I feel guilty. The jacket says Samantha's husband has left her, and after a spree of overcharging at Tiffany's, she settles down to reconstruct a life for herself and her eleven-year-old son. This reminds me of the guilt I feel over having spent $75 at the thrift store last night, mostly on books (including Elizabeth Berg's Open House, which I'll give to my mother as a gift), but also on a mint-condition pair of Italian-made Katharine Hamnett jeans in an outrageous pattern ($4.98) that I hope to give to Mike as a present, because she is the only person I can think of who'd wear them. The thing is, they have a 28-inch waist and I'm not sure of her size. I always have this image of her in my mind from my baby shower, when she looked fabulous in a sheath dress and Audrey Hepburn-slim, forgetting that since then she has had a baby and quit smoking and is probably closer to a 30-inch waist these days, in which case I am stuck with a pair of weird jeans that I cannot myself wear. Deep down, I'm hoping that if they won't fit Mike, I can sell them online and make back some of that $75. Not that I've ever tried to sell anything online, fearing that I will forget to mail it and get a bad rating. I try to comfort myself by saying, at least YOU didn't go on a shopping spree at Tiffany's; but somehow, that isn't comforting at all. It seems sort of cruelly pathetic to feel sorry about going overboard at the Value Center. From a distance, overdoing it at Tiffany's in the wake of a busted marriage sounds glamorous.

Have I mentioned, by the way, that my current favorite pop song is "Hit Em Up Style" by Blu Cantrell? Yeah-hah.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random