new old more book profile blog rings host

prev the year in review next
2001-12-10 | 11:56 a.m.

I just went through my diary for the past year, trying to collect information for a possible holiday newsletter, and I am astonished to find how dull I am. I tend to write at the macro-level; maybe I need to pull back a little. Just let you know what's going on once in a while.

We went to Michigan for a wedding in March, then on to Florida in May, visiting Shirl and Disney World. I wrote an article in the fall that is on the newsstands as we speak. I wrote a few things for Stephen's company, too. The girls played soccer for the first time this year and started first grade. Both took ballet and Felony took jazz, too. Jasper started preschool and ballet. That's pretty much it. We got the fireplace fixed. Duff took the LSAT again after five years and got the exact same score. He got grounded in Chicago the week of 9/11 and I missed him.

Basically, every year around this time I look at my year and say, well, did you write a book? Nope. Okay, I think we're done here.

If I really try hard, 2002 can be different. The girls' elementary school offered me a part-time job and I'm going to turn it down. I already volunteer 4 hours a week in their reading lab, but they want to pay me for 10. Even though I feigned interest, I really don't want to give them 10 hours of my life every week. On one hand, it doesn't sound like much, but on the other hand, it's a huge chunk of my life. And I know this will sound really stuck-up coming from a person who barely works, but for me, working for $9 or $10 an hour would be a lot like volunteering. I'm used to making three or four times that when I actually do anything. But even if they could pay me more, I still wouldn't want to do it, because then December 2002 would roll around and it would be the same old Q & A. Plus---and I know this sounds totally Hallmark---I want to work on being a better mother and friend this year. And author (lest we forget).

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random