new old more book profile blog rings host

prev afterglow next
2001-12-08 | 11:27 p.m.

Our New Orleans-themed party just finished up, and I am pleased to report that it appears to have been a success. I can think of nothing I did that I feel embarrassed about (yet). After a couple of culinary false starts, my Jambalaya and Shrimp Remoulade turned out quite well. Duff says the Jambalaya was his favorite dish. We went through five bottles of wine. Two kids peed their pants, but I had replacement clothes in both sizes. The kids ran from one end of the house to the other, wearing fairy wings and screaming their ten little heads off. Once I went up to the girls' room and looked in, and they were all quite industriously doing things, and every one of them was doing something different. It was like an ant farm. They were using the bunk beds as a jungle gym. After dessert, the men started talking politics. It was so old-fashioned, but also very civilized, and I felt proud that they felt comfortable enough to do it. Bear in mind, these are people we met through our kids. And last but not least, my Mom's Harvey Wallbanger cake was incredible, as ever.

Plans for the next party (possibly with a Spanish theme) have already been set for January at Kirsten's house.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random