new old more book profile blog rings host

prev what passes for logic out in the ether next
2001-12-03 | 6:04 p.m.

"...And when I refer to the Palestinian leadership, I am connecting Yasser Arafat with the terrorist groups Hamas, Islamic Jihad, Hezbollah and others. At this point, it is clear, that at the very least, Arafat greenlights these suicide bombings. If he was really opposed to them and was really trying to stop them, he'd be dead now. That is the way terrorist groups deal with people who are attempting to sidetrack their murders with trivial details like peace."

Is this what passes for logic out there in the ether? Argh. I just read this in an e-mail newsletter (to which I promptly unsubscribed). Maybe Arafat does greenlight suicide bombings, I don't know. But what passes for logic in this passage is seriously impaired. If he was really opposed to them ... he'd be dead now the writer insists. Ergo, since Arafat lives, he must greenlight suicide bombings. Bah. Go back to night school, dingbat. I can tell you one thing that I've read many times, especially in the old days, which is that people have been trying to kill Yasser Arafat for as long as he's been a public figure. I mean, that's like three-quarters of his job, just trying not to get killed. And apparently, he has a real knack for it. But of course, our writer above wouldn't be swayed by that. He's got it all sorted out, doesn't he.

Two paragraphs later, the writer reveals that his sister lives in Israel, and her friend lives in the West Bank. How much do you want to bet that that "friend" isn't Palestinian? Especially when he ticks off Palestinian atrocities and neglects to mention Israeli actions. Uh huh, thank you, now where do I unsubscribe...

I very much want to see the Middle East situation resolve peaceably but I believe that until people admit that there is ugly history on both sides, and figure out a way to get past it, nothing is going to change. It seems impossible, but so did peace in Northern Ireland just a few years ago. And that division lasted 800 years.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random