new old more book profile blog rings host

prev material girl next
2001-11-30 | 1:44 p.m.

This is a list of things I want, for personal reference. (Please don't pass this along to any of my actual friends or family.) The list ranges from the pedestrian to pie-in-the-sky, and I will add to it when I think of something.

  • Underwear.
  • I am an underwear Mennonite. I only wear one brand of cotton underwear, and I wish the cotton were thicker. My son wears cotton training pants and I would love to have some of those. Thick supersoft cotton in the middle and waffle-weave around the sides. I've heard that other women prefer to have a synthetic thong flossing their posterior, but I would easier go without.

  • A Pair of Black Boots.
  • I started looking seriously for boots last year, but I never seem to have the money for them in the summer, before my size sells out. Oh well. After a good hard search, I've put this item on hold until next year.

  • Holiday China.
  • I'm waiting to see if this urge is going to pass. The pattern I've wanted for years is Bernardaud's Grenadiers, featuring little toy soldiers, but I'm not as keen on it as I once was. What's more, it's practically impossible to find and it certainly isn't discounted all over town like Lenox and Spode. So I've been trying to bring myself around to one of the other patterns. I don't care for the Spode, though. Lenox's Holiday Nouveau is all right, like something out of the '60s. I haven't seen anything that totally grabs me. The other possibility is to try to make my own at the ceramics-painting stores in Lesser Loserville. I haven't tried it yet, so I don't know yet if I'll be any good at it, but I want to give it a whirl.

  • Waffle Iron.
  • Seriously. We've been going to this waffle house here in town for a couple of years now, and I want to try to recreate their incredible waffles. Now the funny thing is, my mother gave me a waffle iron years ago, but I passed it on to a friend because I couldn't think of anything I wanted to do less, at 22 or 23 years old, than make waffles. Now I wish I had it, of course, because I've been poking around and haven't found a good one yet. I'll probably have to order one from one of these hoity-toity gourmet shops and pay five times as much for it. But you shouldn't always hold on to something for 15 years, waiting for the day when it'll spark your interest. Right?

    prev archive next
    0 comments

    if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
    random