new old more book profile blog rings host

prev here comes Santie Claus next
2001-11-19 | 1:20 p.m.

Recently, I was thinking about how much it bothers me that I'm spending time looking for a Christmas gift in the $50 range for a woman who is technically a part of my life, though I barely know her, rarely see her, and have next to nothing in common with her. She's nice enough, but if I never saw her again, it wouldn't bother me in the least. She is related by marriage to my spousal equivalent. Meanwhile, every year I routinely ignore and neglect my oldest and dearest friends, because I can't quite get it together to buy presents for everybody. But it doesn't seem right, does it? It pisses me off, frankly. So this year, I would like to get a little something for each of the people who really make a difference in my cloistered little world. Even if it's just a token of friendship, it would be a little something in the mail to open, and that's always fun. AND I want to send out cards this year. I haven't done it the past two years, and I'm tired of my own pathetitude.

Of course, it will be hard to find little inexpensive tchotchkes good enough for my friends, almost all of whom are as impossibly picky about their belongings as I am. But so what? All I'm aiming for is a little frisson of enjoyment.

Who am I talking about? The core group would be Stephen, Frank, Mike, Maxine, Ruth, and Juliet. That's completely doable. So do it!

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random