new old more book profile blog rings host

prev sis boom bah next
2001-11-05 | 11:50 a.m.

They were just here. They came up with this complicated plan in which they drive me to the elementary school to pick up my kids, drive me back to my mother's to drop off kids, then leave from there "to save time." How much time will this save? Approximately 2-4 minutes. They want to do this because they think I will screw things up, though of course they don't say that. They also take the tickets, which Duff has tucked into my purse this morning. When I say they might as well give me my own ticket, they look stricken. They do not want to turn over my ticket. It remains for me to say, "Well, whatever, you can hang on to it." Choose your battles, right? It might be offensive if it weren't so laughable. The devil in me now desperately wants to get separated from them, so I will not be able to get into the stadium.

To tell you the truth, I have no particular desire to go to this football game. It is my own petulant fault, too. I was complaining because Duff and his father, and sometimes his brother, and often his mother and sister-in-law go to all these different pro games and never even think of inviting me. It hurts my feelings. It's one thing when it's just Duff and his Dad, I can see that, but when it's the whole damn bandwagon, I get bent out of shape just like Mary in Persuasion. (Come to think of it, this is the character I most resemble in all of literature.) So after I hurl this grievance in one of our arguments, Duff goes on a crusade to get me into an NFL game. All I want him to do is ask me, so I'm not excluded, but instead he goes right out and buys the tickets. So now I'm going to a football game. I like football, it's not a problem, just an expensive way to make the point.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random