new old more book profile blog rings host

prev hack next
2001-10-01 | 8:21 a.m.

I'm off pink lately.

Got my mss back from the editor yesterday. I felt like somebody had punched me in the gut. Frank says, "You did this for money. Don't even think about the rest of it." But it's hard to forget and just be a bloodless hack. The whole exercise just makes me feel so bad about myself. I mean, I felt bad all day yesterday. We went to a kid's birthday party and I just felt enervated. Part of it, of course, was the unexpected heat that bore down on the party like a pervert uncle.

The thing I can't get out of my head is that I want to do something else, but I'm not good at anything.

So now I just have until noon to turn it around. I figure I'll rework it until noon and then just turn it in, regardless of how well I've done. No point in fussing over it.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random