new old more book profile blog rings host

prev overboard next
2001-09-28 | 4:53 p.m.

I just thought of something else on the subject of Bambi's gifts. My comment that Bambi has four boys, and therefore likes to get creative when buying clothes for girls got turned into "She has all boys, so she doesn't know how to buy clothes for girls." Which is bullshit--I never said that, and I never meant it or thought it.

I do say that Bambi goes "overboard," and by that I mean she buys too much. This is a real bone of contention for me. She goes out and buys shitloads of gifts for all the kids on their birthdays, Christmas, EASTER, whatever, but has no college funds for her sons or any kind of savings whatsoever. Then she has these health problems that she doesn't follow up on and you can't help but think that they're all hanging by a pretty precarious thread, you know? Her kids wear brand-new coordinating outfits from discount stores while mine wear largely secondhand clothes originally from more expensive stores. I pretty much stick to natural fabrics and she doesn't. I grew up in thrift stores and much of the stuff I get there is in great condition. I look at the stitching, not just the label. Her kids' shoes are usually in mint condition because she replaces them all the time, while mine wear their Stride Rites (usually purchased at Marshall's or Ross) until they can't get them on anymore.

It's true that she has started to lighten up a little since she had the twins--I saw Rojo in a pretty ratty pair of sneakers recently--and I do try, occasionally, to spiff up my own brood. On the first day of school, for example, I curled the girls' hair and put them in pretty dresses in a calculated attempt to curry favor with the new teacher. But most of the time, I'm throwing clothes at them from the dryer. And lately, I can't even afford to go to the thrift store. Which sucks beyond belief.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random