new old more book profile blog rings host

prev being the Mom next
2001-09-19 | 5:17 p.m.

Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit! I forgot soccer practice for the second time in a row! God! I hate being the Mom sometimes! I hate feeling guilty about all this stuff. I hate to have everything hinge on me and my institutional memory, because I'm really no good at doing more than one thing at a time. I just don't know how to be the person who finishes this project, AND makes sure everybody gets fed, has clean clothes, cleans up after the dog, picks up kids from school, and whatever else gets thrown at me. Don't tell him I said this, but I watched Duff do his "work" yesterday, and it almost made me want to cry. I'm willing to grant that yesterday may have been an easier day than usual, but for crying out loud, it's like preschool in there. No kidding. This is what he did: Duff and his colleague sat in front of monitors and watched sped-up footage of a video game being played, then rated the monitor image on a scale from 1 to 5. Oh, and they argued about it a little. Was that a three, or a two? Three, or two? Then they wrote down their scores on a clipboard and moved on to the next monitor. Also, they complained about how boring it was. I can't remember the last time I was bored. I would love to be bored.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random