new old more book profile blog rings host

prev bonbons and Bridget next
2001-09-19 | 12:14 p.m.

I wish I could take back every time I've ever made reference to lying on the couch, eating bonbons. I have said it many many times, and right now I would be so happy to be able to do just that, and not be doing this project at all. The truth is, I am not very good at anything. My friends are very sweet and would be quick to protest, but it's really true. I am not very good at anything. Which wouldn't even be a problem except that I had set it up as a goal of mine, to be good at something.

One fun thing: last night we ate at Emery Bay Market on the way home from the city and during dinner we had this whole conversation about how painful it is to pay seven dollars for a mass-market paperback, especially when you can buy the hardback used on Half.com for about seven dollars (or less) or sometimes find it remaindered somewhere. Duff was trying to decide whether he was willing to pop for the Dune: House Atreides paperback at the Borders next door, having just finished Dune: House Harkonnen. I mentioned that I still want a hardback of Bridget Jones's Diary, because I loaned my paperback edition to someone and don't expect to get it back. Preferably a first edition, but those can be really expensive (because of course the book came out in England first) so I would settle for a first American edition.

So then we went into Borders and he got the book he wanted and I walked over to the remainders and found a stack of hardcovers that were none other than Bridget Jones's Diary for $6.99. I showed it to Duff in triumph and he pointed out that it was indeed the first American edition. So wah haaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random