new old more book profile blog rings host

prev dilemma next
2002-08-30 | 1:19 p.m.

I am waiting for one of my sources to get back to me. I have filled up their voicemail systems and now I sit, waiting, until someone calls me or enough time has passed that I can try again. When I am waiting like this, I find it difficult to get anything else done. Maybe that's why I get so far behind on everything.

Meanwhile, I have to go to the bathroom. I'm afraid that if I go to the bathroom, the phone will ring, and it will be one of my contacts. I'm worried that I will be unable to get to the phone before Felony, who might make another cute but incomprehensible attempt at phone etiquette (such as the one she used yesterday: "May you tell me who is this?") then hang up before committing the person's name to memory. I worry that if I take the phone with me into the bathroom, and answer it there, even if I manage to camouflage all toilet-related noises I'll still betray my setting to the astute listener with my echoing voice. It's not as if I can pretend I'm in an airplane hangar. On the other hand, if I sit here much longer, I'm going to become impacted.

prev archive next
1 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random