new old more book profile blog rings host

prev dux redux (reflux?) next
2001-08-21 | 9:38 a.m.

Oh, I forgot to tell you that the dentist's office called yesterday. The #2 office manager asked if I was okay (yes) and did I want to see the OTHER dentist (no) and when I didn't go for any of it, she said that I might want to try a pediatric dentist, because they have special tools and techniques for pain management.

(In other words, I am a big baby.)

Moving on, the other two women in the writing group responded to Christopher's letter and neither of them expressed any discomfort with his tone. So maybe I really was/am overreacting. It's certainly happened before. I will reread.

But when I talked to Frank, he said that accusing "feminists" of anything today is problematic because of the term (NOT because feminists don't do idiotic things, both individually and in groups). He said it prompts the same response in educated people as hearing "women's libbers" ten years ago. So maybe that's part of it. When I hear Christopher say "feminists," it just means women to me, so I take umbrage. But he also deserves to have an opportunity to debunk an idea that is cherished by (some) feminists. Ugh.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random