new old more book profile blog rings host

prev what I really want to say is next
2001-08-20 | 7:39 p.m.

Oh fu-huh-huh-huh-huh-huck. I'm exhausted right now because ... oh, jeez, I don't even know if I can bear to write it out. Let me try Bridget Jonesesque outline format.

1. Christopher, old and dear friend, writes letter to feminist academic decrying her defense of Republican politician in newspaper article because her comments "epitomize some of the sloppiest currents in feminist thinking" and cc's it to our writing group.

2. Get irritated because even though I agree with pith of letter, every time Christopher writes "feminist" in this loaded, angry way, I feel insulted.

3. Want to write careful letter about how I feel with point-by-point analysis that proves am not overreacting. Find this type of writing EXHAUSTING because of sloppy currents in own feminist thinking.

4. Must decide whether to a) ignore Christopher or b) write precision X-acto letter in spite of more pressing obligations.

5. Wonder why all oldest and dearest friends are turning into unreconstructed cranks.

etc.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random