new old more book profile blog rings host

prev a place for everything and everything in its place next
2000-08-11 | 15:07:28

I can hear helicopters in the sky this morning. Another eight-year-old girl went missing in our town yesterday. A charming, outgoing, free-spirited girl who attends the same school our daughters are supposed to attend. Her name is Midsi Sanchez. Like Mitzi, get it? A cute name for a cute little girl who deserves to be alive.

The last girl, Xiana--I've long thought the mother's boyfriend was at fault. His story never held together. But now, with two missing, it's like the town is under siege. Duff said he will request a list of registered sex offenders living around here. I am trying to think of something I could do that would be useful. I told the kids not to go outside, not even in the backyard. I don't really believe that they are at risk in the backyard, but somehow it feels like doing something to restrict their activities. Ordinarily they're not allowed to play in the front yard without supervision anyway.

I've heard that child molesters can never truly be rehabilitated. The child molesters themselves are the first to admit it. Under the circumstances, considering the permanent threat they pose, shouldn't they be contained in colonies after they've served their sentences? I'll have to find out who is thinking about this stuff. I am in favor of prison reform, but this seems substantially different. If somebody is bad in a way that is permanent and threatens the lives of other people, if they cannot be reformed, then they ought not be returned to society. If somebody can figure out a way to fix them in the meantime, terrific. But until them, box 'em up and ship 'em out.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random